Xtreme Tactical Defense St. Louis

Illinois CCW\CCL – Conceal Carry Permit Class

Illinois CCW\CCL
Conceal Carry Permit Class

Missouri CCW Conceal Carry Permit Class

Description: The CCW course is designed for people who wish to obtain their Illinois concealed firearms permit.  The course goes over basic handgun safety and range rules, proper firing techniques, Illinois laws pertaining to concealed carry and live-fire at the range.  Part A – 8 hour session of the class will take place in the classroom. Part B 8 hour session of the class will include learning IL CCW laws, live-fire at the range.  In order to pass the shooting qualification you will shoot 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards, 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards, and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards.  You will pass if you hit 70%, which is 21 rounds hitting the target.

Length of course: 8, 12 or 16 hours.

Class A – 8 Hours

1.) Firearm safety (Classroom)

  • 4 basic firearm handling safety rules
  • Home storage
  • Vehicle storage
  • Public Storage

2.) Basic principles of marksmanship (Classroom/Range)

  • Stance
  • Grip
  • Sight Alignment
  • Sight Picture
  • Trigger Control

3.) Care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm (Classroom)

  • Gun identification: revolver, semi-automatic, misc.
  •  Ammunition identification and selection
  •  Safety and cleaning protocols
  • Cleaning equipment
  •  Loading and unloading
  • Weapon Handling
  • Dry fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals
  • Dry fire practice drills from concealment

Class B – 8 Hours

4.) All applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm (Classroom)

The Act in its entirety

  • With emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/10(h) which includes instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm.
  • With emphasis on 430 ILCS 66/65 which includes instruction on prohibited areas and the parking lot exception.
  • The FOID Act 430 ILCS 65/1 et. seq.

Relevant portions of the ILCS including but not limited to

  • 720 ILCS 5/7-1. Use of force in defense of a person**
  • 720 ILCS 5/7-2. Use of force in defense of dwelling**
  • 720 ILCS 5/7-3. Use of force in defense of other property**
  • 720 ILCS 24/1 et. seq. Unlawful Use of Weapons**
** Must define dwelling, aggressor, forcible felony and unlawful use of weapons pursuant to the ILCS.
  1. ) Weapon Handling
  • Dry fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals
  • Dry fire practice drills from concealment
  •  Live fire practice drills, handgun fundamentals
  •  Live fire qualification with a concealable firearm consisting of minimum of 30 rounds which must include 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards; 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards; and 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police. (See www.isp.state.il.us/firearms/ccw/ccw-faq.cfm)

* The Department will accept up to 8 hours of in-person training already completed toward the 16 hour training requirement as outlined in Section 75 (i) [training course must be approved by the ISP] of the Act provided those 8 hours cover the classroom and range subject matter of components #1 through #3. The additional 8 hours of training required by Sections 75 (g) and (i) of the Act will be comprised of components #4 and #5.

 

What will I learn in Part A:

      • Learn the Basics of Marksmanship
      • Practice how to ‘shoot without aiming’ for a self defense situation
      • Practice the proper way of drawing from a holster
      • Get an understanding of ammunition and basic ballistics
      • Learn how to pick the best gun for you and your situation
      • Become familiarized with semi-automatics and both single and double action revolvers

 

What will I learn in Part B:

      • State and Federal Firearms Laws
      • Illinois Conceal Carry Laws
      • When and Where You Can Carry Your Firearm
      • Firearm Handling Drills
      • Shooting Qualification

What will I receive:

Top Notch training from experienced NRA Certified Instructors​

What you need to bring:

For those of you that have your own firearm, bring your unloaded and cased pistol and a minimum of 100 rounds of factory ammunition. If you have a gun you intend to use for personal defense, we recommend you bring this gun for the course. 30 minutes will be provided for lunch. Students may eat at local restaurant or bring a lunch.  Please leave this in your vehicle until the afternoon shooting section of the course. If you do not have your own firearms to use for the course, you may rent one of ours for $30, which includes ammunition.  Hearing and eye protection will be provided.

Cost:

16 hour A & B class – $200

The range is located indoor\outdoors, so dress accordingly for the weather on your class date.  Certificates are issued upon successful completion of the course.

*There is no live ammunition allowed in the classroom at any time.


Below is a list of training courses acceptable to satisfy the prior training requirements, consistent with Sections 75(g) and (i) of the Act, and the appropriate credit to be applied for each. You must provide us with documented proof of completion for any of the training hours listed below at the time of your class.

    • Illinois Hunter Safety Course – 4 hours
    • Utah Concealed Carry – 4 hours
    • Missouri Concealed Carry – 4 hours
    • NRA Basic Pistol – 8 hours
    • NRA Personal Protection in the Home – 8 hours
    • NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home – 8 hours
    • Active, Retired, or Honorably Discharged member of the United States Armed Forces – 8 hours

Featured Video

Start Training Today

Events